Saying Goodbye to Shirley

44539086_2229978580619877_1272160663011065856_o

It was bittersweet as I said my last goodbyes to Shirley. Tears we shed as we took our last photo together. Call me emotional, but it really was like saying goodbye to a dear friend or family member. We had been through so much together. This bike was my only constant companion for 10 months of my life. I have laughed and I have cried thanks to this bike, but in the end, it got me to where I needed to go. And for that I am eternally grateful.
Shirley’s new owners are a nice local family. Dad is a long time rider who likes to travel by motorcycles other alone or with Mom. Mom also likes traveling by motorcycle and is currently learning how to ride on her own. Shirley will make a good practice bike for her. And 7-year-old son told me that he likes to stick to his bicycle.
I am thrilled that Shirley is now in the hands of a kind, loving family. They even said that I could come visit them if I am ever back in Cusco! The days of Helen and Shirley may be over, but we both definitely have plenty more adventures ahead of us!